Haiku for the Plains

Long road home, or road to nowhere?

Another post inspired by Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop. Many thanks, Mama Kat, for the inspiration.   

Its name will fool you
Luring you off the highway
Sounding like idyll

Old school bakery
Corner Store that does not change
Ferris wheel of fame

An author lived here
She once asked, “Are you there, God?”
And a Smithereen

An Olympic champ
Guy who wrote “Can’t Buy Me Love”
And a baseball pro

But really, not much
Between it and any ‘burb
Except that it’s mine

Strangers now reside
In the house where I grew up
My keys do not work

But I can still smell
Nineteen-Seventy-Six Sears
And ah … Fruit Stripe gum

I still feel the itch
Of lumpy, greasy pigtails
Courtesy of Lew

The horror of lunch
Haunts me to this very day
But hello, last bell

I am both repulsed
And strangely intrigued by it
Home, bittersweet home

 

Haiku for the Plains

4 thoughts on “Haiku for the Plains

  1. Great walk down a hometown memory lane. My mouth started to water when you mentioned Fruit Stipe Gum:) I found they sell it at Cracker Barrel.. my kids loved it! Sounds like a sweet little town. I just drove through mine today after a long time and it’s changed/grown so much. Barely the “burbs” anymore!

Leave a Reply

